Delete All Media for a Specific WhatsApp Chat or Group

whatsapp all media

It seems everyone’s WhatsApp nowadays is suffocating under the weight of a long list of chats and groups. However it's not just your WhatsApp that has to deal with the side-effects occasioned by all these conversations. Your phone is also taking a hit storage-wise with all the hundreds of photos, gifs and videos that are constantly being shared each day.

Fortunately for us, WhatsApp does actually provide us with means through which we can curtail the accumulation of such media on our smartphones without having to take matters into our own hands. This involves either deleting or clearing chats. There however seems to be confusion between what these two do.



The difference is this:
  • Clearing a chat, be it an individual or group chat, will delete all the messages, group conversations and any media in that chat but it will NOT remove that chat from your list of chats or exit you from a group. When clearing, you're however given an option on whether to delete the media from your device as well.
  • Deleting a chat on the other hand will delete all the messages, group conversations and the media but that chat will no longer be available in your chat list. For groups, you'll be required to exit them before you can delete them. Likewise, you'll be given an option on whether to delete or keep the media from your device.

As you can tell we can use any of these methods to delete all the media for a specific chat. However if you need to remain in a group you should only use the clear chat. With individual chats you can use either since you can start a new conversation any time as long as that person is in your contact list. Let's take a look on how to use either of these methods to delete all the media in WhatsApp for Android.


STEPS

A. Deleting ALL Media by Clearing Chats

1. On the WhatsApp chat list page, open the individual chat or group whose media you want to delete.

2. Once inside the chat, press your menu button or tap on the three vertical dots on the top right of the screen to reveal the menu.

3. From here, go to More then tap on the Clear chat option.
clear chat
Clear Chat

4. You'll get a prompt asking you to confirm the clearing. Just below this message leave the "Delete media from my phone" option checked then tap on the CLEAR button.
delete media
Delete Media from your Phone

Doing that will clear all the messages along with all the media of that particular chat. All media will also be deleted from your phone's storage.


B. Deleting ALL Media by Deleting Chats

i. Individual Chat
1. On the WhatsApp chat list page, long press on the chat you want to delete then tap on the delete icon at the top.
delete chat
Delete Chat

2. You'll get a prompt asking you to confirm the deletion. Below it leave the option "Delete media from my phone" checked then tap on the DELETE button.
confirm deletion
Confirm Deletion

ii. Group Chat
As mentioned earlier, to delete a group will require you to exit that group first.

1. On the WhatsApp chat list page, long press the group whose media you want to delete then tap on the three vertical dots to reveal the menu. Tap on the Exit group option.
exit group
Leaving the Group

2. You'll then get a confirmation prompt. Tap on the EXIT button to leave the group.
exit
Tap on Exit

3. Doing that will display a message that you've left from that group. Long press on the chat again then at the top tap on the delete icon.
delete group chat
Delete Group Chat

4. You'll get a prompt asking you to confirm the deletion. Below it leave the option "Delete media from my phone" checked then tap on the DELETE button.
confirm group chat deletion
Confirm Group Chat Deletion


Is the Deletion Permanent?

This does NOT delete the media permanently. The media is only deleted for you (and in your phone) and therefore will still be available to the contacts you were chatting with or other members if it was a group. Still, it's not possible to redownload old messages or the deleted media even if you just cleared the chats.



Delete All Media But Keep Conversations

It's possible to delete all the media for specific chats and keep their messages or group conversations. You also don't have to exit a group to delete their media. To do this we however we don't use the clear or delete options. Instead you have to go to the settings and manage the storage use for individual chats as I'v expalined here.

This brings me to the other possibility:

Delete Only a Specific Media Type

You may also want to delete a specific media type of a particular individual or group chat instead of having to delete everything. Perhaps you may want to delete the videos but keep your images and animated gifs. Or perhaps you want to delete everything save for documents or audio messages. Likewise this is possible by deleting through the Data and storage usage settings as I've outlined here.


Related Posts



Loading comments...